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2012 Professional Ethics and Conduct — via Webcast

Date/Time: July 23, 2012, 1:30-3:10 pm
Instructor: Joanne Rockness

Course Code: OSW1M

CPE Hours: 2

2012 Professional Ethics and Conduct

Objective

This course allows CPAs to meet the requirement of 8G.0410 Professional Ethics and Conduct
CPE. As part of the annual CPE requirement, all active CPAs shall complete CPE on professional
ethics and conduct as set out in 21 NCAC 8N. The North Carolina CPA shall complete a two hour
course in Professional Ethics and Conduct in either a group study format (of which a webcast is
included) or in a self-study format (which is offered through the NCACPA online).

Required Knowledge
None

Advanced Preparation
None

Who Should Attend

All active North Carolina CPAs and anyone else interested in understanding current ethical issues
related to the accounting profession. Anyone who has attended this course in the past should
attend—this is a new course for 2012

Course Description

This course is offered in a format where participants and the discussion leader have opportunities
to interact and discuss ethical issues facing the profession. The North Carolina Professional Ethics
and Conduct rules will be specifically examined, clarifying how they are applicable to all CPAs.
Standards of ethical conduct are not only examined for those CPAs in public practice, but also for
CPAs working in industry throughout North Carolina. We'll examine current trends in ethical
behavior, social networking, and fraud during economic downturns. Real-life case studies will be
discussed, supplied by North Carolina CPAs examining those ethical dilemmas most prevalent in
the workplace.

Note: This course fulfills the State Board’s annual two-hour ethics CPE requirement. The two-
hour ethics course is required for annual license renewal for North Carolina CPAs and does not
qualify one to obtain an original or reciprocal certificate. (The Accountancy Law course required
for certification is an eight-hour program and is also offered by the NCACPA). If you have
questions, please contact the NC State Board of CPA Examiners. The vendor has identified this
course as satisfying the 80-hour requirement for Yellow Book. It is up to the individual to
determine if this course meets the 24-hour Yellow Book requirement. If you have a question,
please contact Michael Hrapsky, project manager of Financial Management and Assurance at the
GAO. His phone number is (202) 512-9535.



